Pop punk band Panic at the Disco dealt a blow to its fans this week with the announcement that lead guitarist Ryan Ross and...

Pop punk band Panic at the Disco dealt a blow to its fans this week with the announcement that lead guitarist Ryan Ross and bassist Jon Walker are leaving.

“Though the four of us have made music together in the past, we’ve creatively evolved in different directions which has compromised what each of us want to personally achieve,” the two departing members said in a statement. “Over the years, we have remained close and honest with each other, which helped us to realize that our goals were different and that parting ways is truly what is best for each of us.”

Ross was an original member of the band since its creation in 2004 and had been one of its principal lyricists. Walker joined the lineup two years later, after the release of Panic’s 2005 debut “A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out” and departure of original bassist Brent Wilson.

The sudden departure was spurred by growing creative differences within the band. Ross and Walker will work together as part of a new musical project, while lead singer Brendon Urie and drummer Spencer Smith continue performing under the Panic name.


In a separate statement, Urie and Smith acknowledged their bandmates’ departure and stated that they will continue forward with Panic’s previously confirmed summer touring commitments.

The now-duo is booked as a supporting act on an upcoming portion of Blink-182’s reunion tour, as well as a couple dates on No Doubt’s itinerary. “We wouldn’t miss those for the world,” Urie and Smith commented on their touring plans.

As for the band’s post-summer plans, the pair assured fans that Panic is “alive and very, very well” with new material in the works. Beyond that, the musicians revealed little about the band’s future, such as who will fill the holes in the lineup.

Urie and Smith simply explained, “We know everybody has a lot of questions at this point with everything being so out of the blue, most of those should be answered in the coming weeks.”

Panic at the Disco itinerary:
(Dates are subject to change.)

July 31Bethlehem, PABethlehem Musikfest
August 4Milwaukee, WIMarcus Amphitheater *
August 6Mansfield, MAComcast Center *
August 7Las Vegas, NVThe Joint +
August 8Chula Vista, CACricket Wireless Amphitheatre +
August 9Wantagh, NYNikon At Jones Beach Theater *
August 12Hershey, PAThe Star Pavilion at Hersheypark Stadium *
August 13Cincinnati, OHRiverbend Music Center *
August 14Burgettstown, PAPost-Gazette Pavilion *
August 15Tinley Park, ILFirst Midwest Bank Amphitheatre *
August 16Council Bluffs, IAWestFair Amphitheatre *
August 18Saint Paul, MNXcel Energy Center *
August 20Noblesville, INVerizon Wireless Music Center *
August 21Darien Center, NYDarien Lake Performing Arts Center *
August 22Clarkston, MIDTE Energy Music Theatre *

* supporting Blink-182
+ supporting No Doubt

Last Updated on July 9, 2009 by By Allison Reitz