Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band, Phish, the Beastie Boys, Nine Inch Nails, Wilco, Al Green, David Byrne, Snoop Dogg, Elvis Costello and Erykah Badu are among the initial round of artists confirmed for the eighth annual installment of the Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival, June 11-14 in Manchester, TN. The event was founded and produced by Superfly Productions and A.C. Entertainment.

This year’s event marks the only 2009 festival appearances by Springsteen and Phish. Phish will play two shows – a full two-set performance as well as an additional late-evening set. Their appearance also holds special significance since the group has performed at the festival in various incarnations over the years, and their own festivals were one of the major inspirations for the creation of Bonnaroo and its operational strategies. Many of the organizers of Phish’s multi-day camping festivals were brought on to help with the creation of Bonnaroo in 2002 and continue to play a major role in the festival today.

The four-day event will feature a total of more than 120 bands and over 20 comedians performing on 13 states, and ticket onsales begin February 7. Also announced are Animal Collective, Lucinda Williams, The Mars Volta, Coheed and Cambria, The Del McCoury Band, Alejandro Escovedo and Rodrigo y Gabriela.

ticketflipping gif ad

As part of this initial Bonnaroo 2009 artist announcement, festival organizers have teamed up with Ghost Robot to create an innovative video that incorporates a new experimental process called stratostencil animation.

Bonnaroo is the only round-the-clock major U.S. music festival with 24 hours of activities including a comedy theater, cinema festival, jazz club, silent disco, arcade, Internet cafés, restaurants, yoga classes and hundreds of high quality craft vendors. Since its inception, Bonnaroo has earned its status as the country’s premier music and arts event.

Like other music festivals this year, Bonnaroo has created a couple of unique ticketing options for its fans, including a layaway plan, which appears to be popular on the festival circuit this year because of the economy. Tickets will be available for five payments of $50 plus applicable fees. In addition, fans will have the option to purchase a Bonnaroo Green Ticket that will help to support the development and implementation of sustainable improvements at the festival for years to come, as the festival organizers are always looking for ways to be aggressive with mitigating the event’s environmental impact and raising awareness about green issues.

Fuse TV will be the exclusive television partner as part of its three-year deal with the festival. It will continue to be the only place to watch Bonnaroo on national television and will include live on-air coverage as well as OnDemand and online content, including backstage interviews, “Best of Bonnaroo” concert specials and a highlight show of this year’s greatest performances. Leading up to the event, Fuse will run four 60-second news packages that will air throughout the day on February 3, providing an insider’s look at the 2009 Bonnaroo lineup. Online, at fans can find essential information on tickets, further line-up additions and interviews from last year’s festival.

In addition, ATT Music will be hosting a live webcast of the event. It will also make featured content available online after the festival is over.

2009 Bonnaroo lineup:
(Performers are subject to change.)

Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band
Phish (two performances)
Beastie Boys
Nine Inch Nails
David Byrne
Al Green
Snoop Dogg
Elvis Costello
Erykah Badu
Paul Oakenfold
Ben Harper and Relentless7
The Mars Volta
TV on the Radio
Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Gov’t Mule
Andrew Bird
Band of Horses
Merle Haggard
The Decemberists
Girl Talk
Bon Iver
Béla Fleck & Toumani Diabate
Rodrigo y Gabriela
The Del McCoury Band
of Montreal
Allen Toussaint
Coheed and Cambria
Booker T & the DBTs
David Grisman Quintet
Lucinda Williams
Animal Collective
Neko Case
Jenny Lewis
Robert Earl Keen
Citizen Cope
Femi Kuti and the Positive Force
The Ting Tings
Robyn Hitchcock & The Venus 3
Grace Potter and the Nocturnals
Kaki King
Grizzly Bear
King Sunny Adé
Okkervil River
St. Vincent
Zac Brown Band
Raphael Saadiq
Ted Leo and the Pharmacists
Crystal Castles
Tift Merritt
Brett Dennen
Mike Farris and the Roseland Rhythm Revue
Toubab Krewe
People Under the Stairs
Alejandro Escovedo
Vieux Farka Touré
Elvis Perkins In Dearland
Todd Snider
Portugal. The Man.
The SteelDrivers
The Knux
The Low Anthem
Delta Spirit
A.A. Bondy
The Lovell Sisters
Alberta Cross

Last Updated on February 4, 2009 by By Jane Cohen & Bob Grossweiner