The Police were recently voted Major Tour of the Year at the 19th annual Pollstar Concert Industry Awards which honors the cream of the concert business — talent, venues, executives and concert production companies — for their accomplishments in 2007.

Ticketing company of the year is conspicuously missing because it was not a category in the Pollstar awards. In fact, Pollstar’s annual CIC conference has taken a very anti-secondary ticketing stance, especially StubHub, which has received “boos” from the attendees over the past few years.

The Pollstar awards are based more on excellence in craft rather than just the box office results, as in the similar Billbords awards. A select group of professionals representing a cross section of the international concert industry make the nominations for these awards. Voting is open only to Pollstar magazine subscribers.

AddThis Story to Your Favorite Social Bookmarking Site!

Sampling of Pollstar Awards winners:

Buy Sell and Go with confidence at StubHub

Major Tour Of The Year– The Police
Most Creative Tour Package–Justin Timberlake/Pink
Most Creative Stage Production– Justin Timberlake
Best New Touring Artist–Hannah Montana/Miley Cyrus
Music Festival Of The Year–Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival
International Music Festival Of The Year–Glastonbury Festival
Nightclub Of The Year–9:30 Club, Washington DC
Theatre Of The Year–Nokia Theatre L. A. Live
Best New Major Concert Venue–02 Arena, London
Red Rocks Award / Best Small Outdoor Venue–Greek Theatre, Los Angeles
Best Major Outdoor Concert Venue–Hollywood Bowl, Hollywood, CA
Arena Of The Year–Madison Square Garden, New York, NY
International Theatre Of The Year–Royal Albert Hall, London
International Arena Of The Year–O2 Arena, London
Nightclub Talent Buyer Of The Year – Amy Corbin (Stubb’s BBQ, Austin, TX)
Independent Promoter Of The Year – Charles Attal (C3 Presents, Austin, TX)
Talent Buyer Of The Year – Jim Glancy (Bowery Presents, NY)
Facility Executive Of The Year – Rick Merrill (Gibson Amph. At Universal CityWalk, Los Angeles)
Bill Graham Award / Promoter Of The Year – Arthur Fogel (Live Nation)
International Promoter Of The Year – Rob Hallett (AEG Live, London)