The Women’s National Basketball Association, or NBA, is a professional basketball league based in the United States. The league had its inception in 1997 and was viewed as the female version of the NBA, but has yet to reach the levels that were anticipated. Currently the league is comprised of 13 teams, 12 of which share a city with an NBA franchise, the only team not to share a city is the Connecticut Sun which capitalize on the success of the University of Connecticut women’s basketball success.

One reason the league has yet to reach major success is the lack of fan appeal and ticket sales. Most teams have trouble selling out home games, and most games are not televised. WNBA tickets have yet to become a major player on the secondary market. Only WNBA Finals tickets produce much demand among fans.